9 comments

  • silisili an hour ago

    I'm pretty uneasy about legal action against the subscribers themselves. If you can prove intent, maybe? But I'd argue many or even most don't realize they're doing anything illegal.

    These IPTV companies, in my experience, never advertise that it's illegal. It's just give us money for a lot of TV channels, just like a cable company does.

  • pjc50 33 minutes ago

    Huh, Ireland has copied English law so precisely that it also has Norwich Pharmacal and Anton Pillar orders?

    (De anonymozation of third parties and non-crime search warrants respectively)

  • Asooka an hour ago

    Good. The internet is meant to uplift human society, not enable petty theft. If only they could have gone after each thief to take back the money they stole.

    • RiverCrochet 39 minutes ago

      Non-sequitur. The Internet only enables the copying of bits and not their theft, as the original bits aren't removed from their source. A remote-copy-and-delete might be considered a theft, but Bittorrent has no delete provisions and that's not really inherent to the infrastructure of the Internet per se (e.g. your network card can't physically make bits on the other side in storage disappear).

      • orbisvicis 35 minutes ago

        For example:

        Good. The internet is meant to uplift human society, not enable petty theft. If only they could have gone after each thief to take back the money they stole.

        - signed, not-Asooka

        • JadeNB 22 minutes ago

          There's a difference between "I am the creator of this content [that I actually didn't create]" and "I am enjoying this content that I did not create." One could argue that it matters, in the latter case, whether you are enjoying the content in a manner with the creator's intention of how you enjoyed it, but, to state one among many possible responses, it is far from clear when I consume media through approved channels that that accurately represents how the creator would prefer I enjoy it.

    • orbisvicis 25 minutes ago

      That's why I don't feel bad pirating textbooks.

    • KumaBear 27 minutes ago

      Buddy we’d still be listening to cds if pirating didn’t exist.

    • tene80i an hour ago

      You’ll find that a pretty unpopular attitude around here (hence the downvoting on your comment, and I assume mine shortly), but you are right.