Great idea for when you bored and want to discover new twitch channels.
Just a suggestion: it would be better if you can ask the user what their preference is and then suggest accordingly.
Great idea. One of my saddest projects was making a site to help Twitch streamers get sponsorship for playing games. You automatically got picked if your view count was high enough. I saw thousands of people streaming on Twitch by themselves for weeks with no viewers whatsoever. Surely many of them had families and partners, but I'm also sure many did not.
really fun! already found an MLB stream, someone streaming Age of Empires 1 no talking and chat in emote mode, someone going absolutely crazy on a racing game I think multi-streaming with their audience primarily on YT. and now I'm on a BG3 playthrough I'm pretty sure.
I will never understand how Amazon hasn't shuttered Twitch yet. Dan Clancy is totally ok with his contracted streamers constantly live streaming terrorist training videos. I guess the adpocalypse only came for YouTube and never Twitch.
Twitch gets a big cut of individual creators’ subs, and I’d bet most people that stream also sub to other channels. Keeping people in the ecosystem is probably worth it, even if there’s some amount of “freeloading”.
youre still encoding to like, 4 different formats and pushing bytes to a cdn for 80k+ streams in real time. I think the actual serving of hls chunks is the cheap part
Transcoding is only guaranteed for twitch partners, and the cdn doesn't actually distribute the video to a given datacenter until at least one viewer using that datacenter requests it.
For anyone who is curious btw: twitch will count you as your own viewer. So anyone with their own chat open in a browser (almost everyone so they can read it) will have that 1 viewer. Which is why the bottom of the distribution is so weird looking.
my first one was junk essentially. I don't even think the host was there.
They said they were streaming music videos, which is already questionable.
Instead they were streaming an interview with a music artist.
Great idea for when you bored and want to discover new twitch channels. Just a suggestion: it would be better if you can ask the user what their preference is and then suggest accordingly.
Perhaps you can add a check to see if the stream is behind a login/agegate? I pushed the random button and got a stream that I was locked out of.
ill check, I honestly didnt even know that was a thing, thanks for letting me know
What about https://nobody.live/?
also neat! never heard of it, seems like we have a bit different ways about browsing similar data. very cool site
Great idea. One of my saddest projects was making a site to help Twitch streamers get sponsorship for playing games. You automatically got picked if your view count was high enough. I saw thousands of people streaming on Twitch by themselves for weeks with no viewers whatsoever. Surely many of them had families and partners, but I'm also sure many did not.
really fun! already found an MLB stream, someone streaming Age of Empires 1 no talking and chat in emote mode, someone going absolutely crazy on a racing game I think multi-streaming with their audience primarily on YT. and now I'm on a BG3 playthrough I'm pretty sure.
I will never understand how Amazon hasn't shuttered Twitch yet. Dan Clancy is totally ok with his contracted streamers constantly live streaming terrorist training videos. I guess the adpocalypse only came for YouTube and never Twitch.
no comment on the political bits, but the fact that 80% of twitch is streaming to themselves cant be cheap to run
I do wish they would revamp their discoverability process
Twitch gets a big cut of individual creators’ subs, and I’d bet most people that stream also sub to other channels. Keeping people in the ecosystem is probably worth it, even if there’s some amount of “freeloading”.
I mean if they are streaming to no clients, is there actually video being transmitted?
youre still encoding to like, 4 different formats and pushing bytes to a cdn for 80k+ streams in real time. I think the actual serving of hls chunks is the cheap part
Transcoding is only guaranteed for twitch partners, and the cdn doesn't actually distribute the video to a given datacenter until at least one viewer using that datacenter requests it.
ya but 99% of streamers have their stream up in their dashboard or on a side monitor, so its always going to be sending and transcoding something
do you think they get a blank check for AWS resources?
It's important that they have a proper budget and pay near the sticker price that way they can play accounting games to make Twitch look unprofitable.
honestly not sure, but it would explain how they can keep it running
Well, I know a year (or 3?) Back they changed their retention of long videos, my guess is to lower storage spend.
Great concept! Brought me to a girl playing COD. She only has me as a viewer.
She thanked me so I stayed for a while lol
Similar in spirit to IMG_0001⁰, IMG_0416¹, and astronaut.io² for YouTube but live on Twitch!
⁰https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=47308547
¹https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=42314547
²https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=20432772
Check out a cool real time feed of people discovering new streamers here: https://twitchroulette.net/discover
And some neat global stats around twitch streams here: https://twitchroulette.net/stats
For anyone who is curious btw: twitch will count you as your own viewer. So anyone with their own chat open in a browser (almost everyone so they can read it) will have that 1 viewer. Which is why the bottom of the distribution is so weird looking.
ya it's why I have the default set to 0-5, theres weirdness in what twitch counts as a viewer
There are some soundcloud and mixcloud versions that might need inventing ...cool concept!
my first one was junk essentially. I don't even think the host was there. They said they were streaming music videos, which is already questionable. Instead they were streaming an interview with a music artist.
Old discussion has lots of comments too https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=23114103
i am actually even more impressed that you got this to front page
did I do something wrong or something
Not that I can see. I think most on HN root for the underdog.
Next up: HackernewsRoulette
this is pretty dope !!
was the only viewer to some guy playing far cry
"Twatxh Loulette"