Goodbye to Sora

(twitter.com)

315 points | by mikeocool 5 hours ago ago

232 comments

  • meken 2 hours ago

    I had so much fun making videos with my mom when it came out. During the first two weeks, we made over 100 cameo videos together - we were constantly running up against the upload limit. It unleashed tons of genuine creativity, joy, and laughter from us.

    After those first two weeks though, we just… didn’t use it again. The novelty wore off and there wasn’t anything really to bring us back. That was the real downfall of Sora.

    • mathattack an hour ago

      This is consistent with a lot of AI apps. I fell in love with Gamma and haven’t used it in forever. Same with NotebookLM.

      • conartist6 5 minutes ago

        Yeah it's not just the hardware depreciating, it's the social impact of what the model can do

      • wholinator2 an hour ago

        I somewhat consistently use notebookLM for podcasts of academic papers I'm reading in my PhD. You have to go read it yourself afterwards but it makes better use of time in the gym or doing dishes/groceries.

        • shimman 35 minutes ago

          Just listen to actual audio books... literally doing double the work for no benefit... why?

          • blharr 9 minutes ago

            There aren't a lot of highly technical audiobooks or ones that give the same specificity that would be the same as an academic paper

    • 1bpp an hour ago

      [flagged]

      • dang 27 minutes ago

        Please don't cross into personal attack. Your comment would be fine without the swipe at the end.

        https://news.ycombinator.com/newsguidelines.html

      • Waterluvian an hour ago

        I think you’re fumbling on an important distinction.

        Sometimes people want to paint, sometimes people want a painting.

        To have wonderful time with their mom… I bet they had absolutely zero interest in the act and process of making silly videos.

        • dqv an hour ago

          Totally. This wasn't a situation where a stranger was slopping another stranger, it was a mother and son doing something fun together.

        • apsurd an hour ago

          I get your point but it goes too far in the opposite direction. We should now discuss absolutely nothing in relation to Sora and genAI videos? That seems overly charitable to the platform.

          • Waterluvian 43 minutes ago

            Here, let me try this approach:

            Read the main comment out loud to yourself while imagining it’s someone sitting at a table at a pub.

            Now imagine someone turning to this person in the pub, and speaking the subsequent comment, word for word.

            No seriously, try it out.

            • apsurd 36 minutes ago

              Agreed. I did try this out! So the reply to the original comment is dumb. I actually dismissed it for being flippant.

              Your reply is more interesting. Hence my (albeit maybe snarky) chiming in. So the original comment does end at a very specific app/sora related conclusion. "Sora didn't keep us coming back."

              If I may amend your scenario: imagine this bar is actually in the center of SF or across the street from Open-AI or whatever. We're on HN discussing a post on X about Sora.

              The appeal to humanity is not wrong. My point is more let's keep the connection with that humanity in relation to AI, to Sora, to what's going on in this forum.

      • jcims an hour ago

        Come on now...'We're curing cancer, right?!'

        You didn't at least puff a little ack through your nostrils for that one?

  • cyberge99 2 minutes ago

    Disney might be worried about Musk installing Byron as governor of Florida. Disney is probably still reeling from the Ron Desantis political attacks.

  • AlexAplin 2 hours ago

    Notably, this primer on Sora safeguards was published only yesterday: https://openai.com/index/creating-with-sora-safely/

    Not a great look that either the teams responsible for Sora didn't know this was coming or the decision was so brash that things changed overnight.

    • paxys 2 hours ago

      The app isn’t shutting down today, so they may have decided that the write up is still useful.

      • repeekad 2 hours ago

        More likely the team who put a lot of work into it were unaware of the decision to kill the product, regardless of the final sunset date, until today.

    • bibimsz 2 hours ago

      i guess the disney deal falling through was the impetus rather than vice versa

      • bandrami 2 minutes ago

        Though at this point it's not clear that anybody who's agreed to give OpenAI money is actually going to do so

  • ex-aws-dude 3 hours ago

    The thing that didn't make sense with this app: who would ever want to scroll only AI generated videos over a combined feed?

    In practice people would just generate the videos with the app then post them on regular social media in which case OAI would not get the ad revenue for that

    Its the age-old "your product is just a subset of another product"

    • danso 2 hours ago

      I've always suspected video-gen is basically a loss leader for OpenAI, Gemini, and Grok. They can't convince the general population that AI is world-changing trillion dollar tech with "vibe coding", but realistic fake videos are impressive at a glance, and might convince many non-technical people that AI/LLMs are something revolutionary.

      • oro44 2 hours ago

        Most of this “AI” stuff is dead on arrival.

        Most People do not care about the technology and frankly they don’t want to know about it. They want great experiences. That’s it.

        Technologists seem to have a reallyyyy hard time getting it.

    • NoPicklez 11 minutes ago

      Posting the videos to social media wasn't its only use case.

      I've no doubt that content creators outside of social media were using it as well, either for their brand or other video work.

      Yes we see AI reels all over the place, but that's not only what it was used for

    • anukin 2 hours ago

      Moltbook was recently acquired by meta. I think it’s the same hypothesis for TikTok for ai agents or similar.

    • echelon 3 hours ago

      > The thing that didn't make sense with this app: who would ever want to scroll only AI generated videos over a combined feed?

      It was legitimately fun until the IP guardrails came up and we couldn't do anything with the characters and culture we know.

      If you look at US top videos on YouTube any given day, 40-60% of the videos are IP-based. Star Wars, Nintendo, Marvel, music, etc.

      • tantalor 2 hours ago

        > look at US top videos on YouTube any given day

        I'd rather eat poison

        • echelon 2 hours ago

          We can have that discussion, or we can have the more interesting discussion of just how much big corporate intellectual property, franchises, and brands have their hooks in pop culture.

          Big IP is strong arming OpenAI, Suno, and all the rest.

          It'll be interesting to see whether creators at the bottom of the pyramid can effectively create new brands and IPs at a fast enough rate to displace the lack of being able to use corporate IP.

          I also think the lawyers at the MPAA, RIAA, gaming industry, etc. will ultimately require all of social media to install VLMs to detect if their properties are being posted. Forget generation - that's hard to squash - they'll go directly to Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, and Reddit and force them to obtain licenses to their characters and music. We'll see cable TV era "blackouts" when a social network has to renegotiate their IP license.

          People really wanted to use Sora for about a week. After the app/model debuted, they lost the ability to generate IP within the first week. The interest faded almost immediately. The same thing happened with Seedance 2.0.

          People want to generate IP.

          edit: clarity

          • no_wizard 2 minutes ago

            Personally I’m glad that big IP came in and smashed the AI companies like this. They been relentlessly ripping off smaller creators for some time now.

            It opens the precedent for those creators to now also hold these companies responsible. That’s not a bad thing under the current legal system in this way.

            Also, seeing genuine original creations created with AI assistance is much more interesting to me

          • array_key_first an hour ago

            Pop culture is a fickle beast. What is pop culture is community made, not corporate made, and it can't be bought and sold like traditional markets. It's one of the few areas of life where nobodies can become somebody, and corporations hate this.

            Media like YouTube isn't consolidating because that's what people want, it's because that's what YouTube and IP holders want. They want death to people like Boxxy, and they want you to watch VEVO instead.

          • jrflowers 2 hours ago

            > People wanted to use Sora for about a week. Then they lost the ability to generate IP.

            Or the novelty wore off in about a week, and then after that it also became harder to generate videos of baby yoda at Westboro Baptist Church protests

      • praisewhitey 2 hours ago

        >If you look at US top videos on YouTube any given day, 40-60% of the videos are IP-based. Star Wars, Nintendo, Marvel, music, etc.

        Where can I get this data?

    • chromacity 2 hours ago

      > The thing that didn't make sense with this app: who would ever want to scroll only AI generated videos over a combined feed?

      It's not an exaggeration to say that this is how millions of people use Facebook. It might be not how most HNers use it, but create a new account and you will be absolutely funneled toward prolific producers of video-based AI slop.

      But the problem is that FB and Tiktok (and to a smaller extent, YT Shorts) have cornered the AI video doom scroll market, and no one really seemed to be inclined to use Sora and related models for anything more creative. Which probably made it not worth subsidizing.

  • agnishom 4 minutes ago

    Good riddance?

    I can appreciate that the technology and research behind Sora could be helpful for many things, but I do not see anything good coming out of the consumer facing application.

  • yoyohello13 39 minutes ago

    It’s been interesting seeing OpenAI pivot. Snapping up popular open source devs, sicking their bought and paid for politicians on their competitors.

    They probably see how much Anthropic is absolutely crushing them in developer mind share (see, people who buy tokens) and want a piece.

  • max_ 5 minutes ago
  • bschwindHN 21 minutes ago

    Good riddance. AI video generation is not something humanity needs.

    • iugtmkbdfil834 7 minutes ago

      I don't really disagree, but the proper way to think about it was that with Sora some of that ability democratized. Now it will be available only to the rich and powerful ( and nerdy ). Humanity may not need it per se, but removal of that option that does not automatically make it better; not if the removal is only for a portion of the population.

  • bandrami an hour ago
  • password54321 4 hours ago

    "OpenAI’s top executives are finalizing plans for a major strategy shift to refocus the company around coding and business users" - WSJ

    Coding is where the money is. https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=46432791#46434072

    • 34ahgaf 18 minutes ago

      It is the last narrative that some of Wall Street believes and has enough mediocre or senile coders to promote it.

      That narrative will implode like Sora later this year.

    • MyFirstSass 4 hours ago

      *Forcing AI devtools down everyones throat is where the money is.

      Shovel selling and instruments to dismantle whats left of working class power.

      • bibimsz 2 hours ago

        Software engineers have spent the last 40 years automating away other people's jobs. The discomfort only seems to start when the automation points inward.

        • al_borland 2 hours ago

          I want to make people’s jobs easier and more interesting, I never want to make them redundant.

          This did happen once. 3 people were laid off, I think directly based on things I said to drive the completion of some automation. That was the last time I ever measured something in man-hours to make a point. I’ll never do it again. That was over 12 years ago.

        • skydhash an hour ago

          Haven't mechanical engineers done the same thing (steam engines, trains,...)? The whole applied science is about using knowledge to remove tediousness (and now adding it back). A lot of jobs have been removed.

          • bibimsz 30 minutes ago

            model T factor workers are anti worker

    • paxys 2 hours ago

      How are they going to claw back the market from Anthropic though?

      • janalsncm an hour ago

        Step 1: make a coding product which is better on cost/quality/speed. Probably need to choose two, so redirecting compute from dumb ai videos to coding makes sense.

        Step 2: win back public trust by firing Sam Altman or dropping defense contracts or something else I can’t think of.

        • yoyohello13 37 minutes ago

          Step 3: use politicians to jam Anthropic up in legal battles.

      • lossyalgo 2 hours ago

        Imagine all the money they can save on Sora which surely cost them way more than regular LLM usage, that they can now invest into suave Superbowl ads trash-talking Claude.

        I also wonder if they got the $1B from Disney? Was that even a paid for deal? Or just another "announced" deal? Every article I found doesn't mention anyone signing any paperwork - which seems to be typical of AI journalism these days. Every AI deal is supposedly inked but if you dig deeper, all you find are adjectives like proclaimed, announced, agreed upon.

        • GenerWork an hour ago

          I believe that the $1b is apparently not coming anymore because it was basically dependent upon Sora being an actual product that actual people can use, which isn't the case anymore.

  • small_model 2 hours ago

    Not good, seems like they are running out of cash and partners abandoning them. They had no real moat to be fair. Anthropic eating their lunch in enterprise and other players have cashflows from other businesses (XAI, Google)

    • zhoujianfu an hour ago

      I had a sense things may be turning against them when my accountant asked me last week if I’d like to participate in their new round ($750B premoney) with no carry. How am I suddenly blessed with such exclusive access, at no cost?!

    • TheOtherHobbes an hour ago

      Yes, I'm reading this as a sign of strategic failure and decline.

      ChatGPT is an interesting product - I like it for certain things - but after last year's PR scramble almost all the news out of OpenAI is a disappointment, with hovering hints of retrenchment.

  • Sir_Twist 4 hours ago

    > OpenAI launched Sora last September, aiming to expand its dominance among consumers by creating a TikTok-style social feed that allowed users to share AI-generated content with one another.

    I never understood what this app was about. TikTok (and I would argue most modern social media platforms) isn’t really about sharing things with friends, it’s about entertainment. Most people watch TikToks and YouTube videos because they are entertaining. Beyond the initial 2-3 minutes of novelty, what do AI generated videos really have to offer when there is no shortage of people making professional, high quality content on competing platforms?

    • mjr00 3 hours ago

      > Beyond the initial 2-3 minutes of novelty, what do AI generated videos really have to offer when there is no shortage of people making professional, high quality content on competing platforms?

      I don't know where they got September from; Sora launched in Feb 2024[0] which was a bit before people had become tired of awful AI-generated content. There was real belief that people would be willing to spend all day scrolling a social network with infinite AI-generated content. See the similar hype with Suno AI, which started a whole "musicians are obsolete" movement before becoming mostly irrelevant.

      I think Sora 2 produced quite good videos, at least of a certain type. It was very good at producing convincing low-resolution cellphone footage. Unfortunately you had to have a very creative mind to get anything interesting out of it, as the copyright and content restrictions were a big "no fun allowed" clause, which contributed to its demise. Everything on the main Sora page was the same "cute animals doing something wholesome and unexpected" video.

      My "favorite" part was how the post-generation checks would self-report. e.g. It was impossible to make a video of an angry chef with a British accent because Sora would always overfit it to Gordon Ramsey, and flag its own generated video after it was created!

      [0] https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=39386156 - only one mention of "AI slop" in the entire thread, though partial credit goes to "movieslop".

      • lossyalgo 2 hours ago

        To nitpick a tiny bit, from Wikipedia[0]:

        > In February 2024, OpenAI previewed examples of its output to the public,[1] with the first generation of Sora released publicly for ChatGPT Plus and ChatGPT Pro users in the US and Canada in December 2024[2][3] and the second generation, Sora 2, was released to select users in the US and Canada at the end of September 2025.

        [0] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sora_(text-to-video_model)

  • bananamogul 15 minutes ago

    So are they killing Sora entirely, or just the Sora mobile app?

    There's a web interface as well.

  • oliyoung 11 minutes ago

    So what died first? The Disney deal or the Sora app

  • ctdinjeu5 an hour ago

    To focus on code generation - arguably the easiest problem to solve.

    So strange that they fell behind after leading the charge on video from Will Smith spaghetti through the spectacular launch of Sora.

    Turns out anyone can get that look by appending “like an Octane render”

    Beyond that, like Kling and Hailou quickly surpassed them on product, and OpenAI never even attempted text-to-3d as if they are entirely uninterested in rich media.

    OpenAI reminds me more of Meta than any other company. They’re both pioneering in their space and yet are mere commandeers (not innovators) when it comes to technology and importantly end user products.

    They’ll also be extremely valuable, like Meta due to their ad product and ever-growing user base over the next 10 years, and I guess by focusing on code they plan to capture a segment of the developer market à la React or Swift.

    Will OpenAI release a language or framework? An IDE? I bet the chat paradigm stays for the ad product and aging user base (lol) while the exciting innovation will happen in code automation and product development - an area they are not really experts in.

  • foolfoolz 3 hours ago

    as a sora user:

    - sora was not great at making what you asked

    - i probably got 3 good videos out of 100 gens

    - every video that was good needed editing outside of sora (and therefore could not be shared within sora)

    just my experience

    • jimmytucson 2 hours ago

      Pretty much mirrors my experience using GPT to generate images creatively. I tried to generate an image to accompany a Robert frost poem and it made something... plausibly related. But not what I was describing. I spent the next 90% of the time making it 10% closer to what I wanted but it never got all the way there.

      I’ve given it different levels of open-endednes, give this flow chart an aesthetic like this mechanical keyboard, or generate an SVG of this graphic from a 70s slide show, but it never looks quite like what I have in mind.

      In the end, I think you only use this stuff to generate images if you’re prepared to accept whatever comes out on approximately the first try.

      • TheOtherHobbes an hour ago

        This isn't a solvable problem without world models. Tokenised prompting is like stabbing a pin at a huge target in the dark. Sometimes something interesting falls out, but latent space doesn't have the definition to give most people exactly what they want.

        When it does, it's more likely to be something popular and unoriginal, where the data is dense, and less likely to be something inventive and strange.

        • xienze 35 minutes ago

          > This isn't a solvable problem without world models.

          I wish we could use something like a simple DSL rather than English prose to work with these models, in order to have some real precision to describe what we want.

    • bananamogul 19 minutes ago

      In my experience, Sora was fantastic for what it did. Light years better than Adobe Firefly. On par with Leonardo.

      A lot of YouTube content is really talk, so it was easy to create Sora videos as video content while you talked over them.

      However, its failure was that it watermarked everything. WTF? Leonardo didn't do that. Neither did other models. So while video gen was excellent, you always had these ridiculous floating watermarks.

  • throw4847285 5 hours ago

    Didn't they cut a huge deal with Disney just 3 months ago?

    https://openai.com/index/disney-sora-agreement/

    • toraway 3 hours ago

      Yes, and Disney is apparently no longer investing in OpenAI, making one more example of an OpenAI investment hype cycle that turned out to be hot air.

      Disney Exits OpenAI Deal After AI Giant Shutters Sora

      https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/business/digital/openai-sh...

        A source familiar with the matter tells The Hollywood Reporter that Disney is also exiting the deal it signed with OpenAI last year, in which it pledged to invest $1 billion in the company and agreed to license some of its characters for use in Sora.
      
        “As the nascent AI field advances rapidly, we respect OpenAI’s decision to exit the video generation business and to shift its priorities elsewhere,” a Disney spokesperson said. “We appreciate the constructive collaboration between our teams and what we learned from it, and we will continue to engage with AI platforms to find new ways to meet fans where they are while responsibly embracing new technologies that respect IP and the rights of creators.”
      
      Also "exit the video generation business" seems somewhat notable, suggesting they're not just planning to launch a different video gen product to replace Sora?
    • moralestapia 5 hours ago

      Wow. OpenAI is the weirdest company in the planet.

      I used to think they were pretty clever but with this news and other recent ones (Jony Ive project cancelled, Stargate scaled down significantly, their models inflating token use on purpose) they just seem schizo.

      • password54321 4 hours ago

        They are just cancelling side projects because Anthropic is dominating in enterprise and side projects (probably) don't make profit. https://x.com/ShanuMathew93/status/2031074311629353299

        • timpera 4 hours ago

          This data is pretty questionable. OpenAI employees have said on Twitter that it does not account for ChatGPT Enterprise, where most of their growth is, which is quote-only and not paid by credit card.

      • radicality 4 hours ago

        You have more info about the inflated token use? I’m using codex cli a bunch now, but the reported token usage seems like an order of magnitude higher than, say Claude code with opus.

        Idk if it’s because I set codex to xhigh reasoning, but even then it still seems way higher than Claude. The input/output ratio feels large too, eg I have codex session which says ~500M in / ~2M out.

        • moralestapia 4 hours ago

          I wish I had hard evidence but it is mostly an observation. I do use Codex a lot and I felt a drastic change from like one-two months ago to this day.

          It used to give me precise answers, "surgical" is how I described it to my friends. Now it generates a lot of slop and plenty of "follow ups". It doesn't give me wrong answers, which is ok, but I've found that things that used to take 3-4 prompts now take 8-10. Obviously my prompting skills haven't changed much and, if anything, they've become better.

          This is something that other colleagues have observed as well. Even the same GPT5.4 model feels different and more chatty recently. Btw, I think their version numbers mean nothing, no one can be certain about the model that is actually running on the backend and it is pretty evident that they're continuously "improving" it.

          • SpicyLemonZest 23 minutes ago

            I haven't had the time to fully hash this take out, but a big question in the back of my mind has been - is it possible that AI model improvements come partly from finding overhang in things that look hard and impressive to humans but are actually trivial consequences of the training data? If true, then the observable performance of any widely distributed model could get worse over time as it "mines out" the work that's easy for it to do.

      • skywhopper an hour ago

        Turns out just lying about what your tech will do and how much people want it doesn’t work forever to raise unlimited money to throw in the fire hoping you hit something that actually makes a profit.

  • cdrnsf 31 minutes ago

    If they manage to compete with Anthropic in the enterprise market, are either of them able to reach profitability? To what degree are they subsidizing token usage and how tolerant are enterprise customers of significant price increases?

  • ronsor 5 hours ago

    Unlike, say, Seedance 2.0 (which has yet to come to the West), Sora 2 was more of a tech demo than anything usable:

    * It was (assumedly) expensive to run.

    * It was not good enough for customers to seriously pay for.

    * There were too many content restrictions for it to be fun for most people.

    • hexage1814 5 hours ago

      I heard Seedance is also full of restrictions now, although the model seems to be better at that sort of “cinematic” look, which might allow it to compete with Veo 3 and the like.

      The issue is that Sora ended up getting the short end of the stick: by generating the footage, it became the primary target of complaints. Meanwhile, they were forced to remove the videos, but people simply took those videos and uploaded them to random social media platforms like Twitter, TikTok, or YouTube, which ended up hosting the content while being much less of a target, since the content wasn’t generated there.

      Honestly, I think the only way forward will be to wait for local models to become good enough so that you can run something like Sora locally and generate whatever you want.

      • ronsor 4 hours ago

        Seedance has a lot more restrictions now, but still arguably not as much, it's probably cheaper for ByteDance to run, and as you said, it at least looks good enough to be worth paying for.

        Sora had all of the downsides, and attracted all of the scrutiny. Local-first is definitely the way.

  • mcast 5 hours ago

    I guess this is a bullish sign OpenAI has hired a lot of PMs from Google!

    • 2001zhaozhao 3 hours ago

      We need a 'killed by OpenAI' site now

      • al_borland 2 hours ago

        This could be taken two ways.

        1. OpenAI killing off their own products aggressively, taking a page from Google’s book. (I think the way you meant it)

        2. Products/companies that no longer exist because OpenAI, or AI in general, made them obsolete. (My first instinct when reading it)

        • blharr 2 minutes ago

          >Products/companies that no longer exist because OpenAI, or AI in general, made them obsolete

          What would you place here anyways? Chegg and Stack Overflow?

    • ignoramous 3 hours ago

      I'd wager that b2c projects former VP of Product at Instagram & CPO at OpenAI, Kevin Weil, may have championed are getting the boot with the company refocusing on making money under the stewardship of Fidji Simo: https://www.businessinsider.com/fidji-simo-openai-product-re...

      Weil's now heading "AI for Science": https://www.pymnts.com/personnel/2025/openais-chief-product-...

  • Imnimo 4 hours ago

    It was neat to be able to try my own prompts and get a sense of what the state of video generation was. But I certainly never generated something that I thought I got real value out of on its own merits, and I still don't understand why there was a social media component to the app.

    • 2001zhaozhao 3 hours ago

      They wanted network effects because ChatGPT was sorely lacking any.

      I actually thought the Sora app was promising at launch, at least on paper, but it seems like they failed to keep people's attention long term. With the failure of Sora i don't think they have good options left.

      • QuantumNomad_ a minute ago

        I generated a fair number of videos with Sora, and used a handful of those and edited them outside of Sora for a couple of short TikTok videos.

        Never once did I bother to browse videos made by others on Sora itself. I wonder if anyone did.

  • iainctduncan 4 hours ago

    You know they are burning money dangerously when they decide to focus on the area in which they are getting their asses kicked...

    • tyleo an hour ago

      Yeah, I thought it was strange too. I thought OpenAI could meaningfully differentiate by being something more like a “Social Media AI”.

      I feel like they are sailing into a red ocean with what look more like copycat tactics than innovation (e.g., Codex v Claude Code; Astral v Bun)

  • yalogin an hour ago

    This makes sense. OpenAI correctly realized overindexong on consumer where there isn’t money is not the right way. By not focusing on enterprise they ceded the market to Claude. Now they are rethinking and pivoting

    • Frieren an hour ago

      > OpenAI correctly realized overindexong on consumer where there isn’t money is not the right way.

      It says a lot about the current economy that consumers have no money. Will companies just stop making consumer products?

      • yalogin 27 minutes ago

        Consumers have always paid with data not money. That is just how we are groomed. In fact that is more valuable to companies as it turns out. Sora though doesn’t work that way, it costs the company a lot with no useful data for them. It was always a vehicle to raise the company’s image and nothing else. The only way it’s useful for them is to show the user count to investors in their next funding round. Served no other purpose, but the market changed around them.

        • solid_fuel 5 minutes ago

          "always" is doing a lot of work here. Just 20 years ago I think consumers largely paid with money, not personal data.

      • techgnosis 43 minutes ago

        Consumers never pay for stuff on the internet. FB, Insta, TikTok, Google products, Reddit, Snapchat. This is not a new realization that OpenAI is having.

    • dangus 39 minutes ago

      Something about your phrasing is such hilarious techbrained spin.

      Let’s be real: OpenAI is circling the drain.

      The company with the fraudster serial liar CEO who said he was gonna spend a trillion dollars can’t keep a video service alive right after signing a $1 billion dollar with Disney?

      What kind of a joke is that?

      This is a company that has blown its opportunity twiddling around with zero product. They still just run a plain chatbot interface with zero moat and zero stickiness.

      There’s no “pivot” for a company that is in this deep.

  • harlequinetcie 4 hours ago

    Are we sure it was in that order?

  • timpera 4 hours ago

    Sora clearly was a waste of ressources. I liked using it for a few days, but I could tell it was consuming an insane amount of compute for 10-15 second videos that only a dozen people might watch.

  • jmugan an hour ago

    That jumping Sora logo always made the videos unwatchable for me. So distracting from the scene of Elvis fighting aliens or whatever I was watching.

  • dev1ycan 13 minutes ago

    Bahaha.

  • Olumde 2 hours ago

    VFX artists are ecstatic about this development.

    • Gagarin1917 2 hours ago

      Sora was not the only video generation service, it wasn’t even the gold standard.

      Offerings like Kling and ByteDance are considered much better.

    • willis936 2 hours ago

      I feel like in several years we will look back at how we treated our most creative minds in disgust. This behavior will not be readily forgiven.

      • Permit 2 hours ago

        I feel like in several years we’ll have much more capable video generation than Sora was capable of and we won’t look back at all.

        • thankyoufriend 2 hours ago

          If someone doesn't care enough to suck at something (in this case, video creation) then why should we bother consuming their output? We all have our own streams of mental diarrhea already, so there's no need to drink from the tsunami of polished turds.

        • emp17344 2 hours ago

          I feel like you’re wrong. This is a clear signal that generative video is deeply unpopular.

          • supern0va 2 hours ago

            >This is a clear signal that generative video is deeply unpopular.

            Or, it's a clear signal that AI video is too expensive as a consumer product and/or not quite yet at a quality bar that the average person finds acceptable.

            I think someone could have looked at computer graphics and SFX circa the '80s and decided that they would always pale in comparison to practical effects. And yet..

            It's an annoying trope, but this is the worst and most expensive (at this quality level) that these models will ever be.

          • Permit 2 hours ago

            We’re just replaying the CGI debate from the 2010s. It was popular to hate on CGI because it was obvious and bad and low quality and practical effects were better because of…

            We learned two things from this debate:

            1. What most people hated was actually just “bad CGI”. Good CGI went entirely unnoticed.

            2. A generation of people were raised with CGI present in almost every form of professional media (i.e. not social media). They didn’t have a preference for practical effects because the content they consumed didn’t really use them.

            I expect the same thing to happen here. I don’t think many people want to consume AI generated content exlusively (like Sora’s app attempted). However I expect AI generated content to continue to improve in quality until it’s used as a component in most media we consume. You and I will eventually stop noticing it and kids will be raised with it as normal and the anti-AI millennials/GenX crowd will age-out of relevance.

          • CamperBob2 33 minutes ago

            Eventually you won't be able to tell the difference.

  • dwroberts 2 hours ago

    Disney's involvement with this was always strange. Their business lives and dies on the strength of their characters and their designs - why would you risk allowing a service to dilute them down and maybe misuse them?

    • amelius 2 hours ago

      If you can't beat them, join em?

      But now that the deal is off, I'm sure their legal team will attempt to once again change copyright law in their favor.

  • rossjudson 10 minutes ago

    "Sora, generate a video of Mickey Mouse beating up Sam Altman."

  • overgard 2 hours ago

    Amusingly, one of the ads on the page for me is a very obviously AI generated image of a man with sciatica. I say very obviously because his hands are on backwards..

  • mrdependable 2 hours ago

    My guess is that we are going to see a new uber expensive video generation tool from them aimed at filmmakers in the next year.

  • wj 3 hours ago

    May be incompatible with OpenAI possibly becoming more PG-13 rated in the future?

    I had thought this would be combined with OpenAI launching a set top box where you could talk to an AI avatar. Disney IP could have been skins to sell people for their AIs.

  • softwaredoug 4 hours ago

    Sora was fun

    But it was largely fun to try to transgress against the limitations. Who could trick the AI to generate something outlandish and ridiculous.

  • mikhmha 4 hours ago

    I tried using Sora for a month. Never paid for it. I tried many different ways of prompting and I was always underwhelmed by its output. The generation would also take so long and there was like a 50% chance it would fail due to content violations. I will say though that it was kind of addicting in a way. Just trying to crank the lever and see what would come out. But you'd always leave disappointed. It was a casino where the operator was losing money for every play.

    I think OpenAI had a brief delusion that it could become some huge social networking app. The App was heavily modeled after TikTok..

  • xnx 2 hours ago

    Generated video is useful and valuable, but Sora was not a frontier model.

    Better for OAI to spend their human and compute resources on something else.

    • 4k0hz 2 hours ago

      Is it actually useful and valuable? I can't see any serious use cases except maybe stock video generation.

  • bibimsz 18 minutes ago

    we hardly knew ye

  • strongpigeon 5 hours ago

    I never quite got "why" they made it a separate app. While I'm sure it was fun for a while, this felt like something that had limited staying power as the novelty is what was driving it. People don't really want to switch between video apps for their entertainment and having it be Sora only is too limiting.

  • Yizahi 2 hours ago

    A bribe to stop thieves from profiting from the Disney's own IP is no longer needed now I guess :)

  • PLenz 3 hours ago

    This was bound to happen. IP is data and data is moat.

    • yabutlivnWoods 2 hours ago

      No. Money is moat. Not enough of it is what keeps the average person on the treadmill rather than drawing their own cartoons.

      Hustle just to barely stay afloat water or drown, means no time to compete with our own output.

      America is a financially engineered joke regurgitating its own recent history, collapsing like an LLM trained on its own output. The rich are not even pretending it's "a free country" as they have enough wealth for how many years left most of them have to live, and have seen the apathy to their own plight keeping the average person in theit lane they don't fear the public.

      It’ll all collapse as they generationally churn out of life and the Millennials on down with zero skills but "data entry into a computer" will be holding an empty bag, taking orders from foreign nations that bought up all the American businesses we built.

  • pm90 3 hours ago

    It feels like the bubble is starting to pop. A crisis of confidence is not something OAI can afford at this stage...

    • small_model an hour ago

      I wonder if Anthropic has overtaken them in revenue, seems like more people would pay for Claude code than to chat with ChatGTP. Would be good to see Codex vs Claude Code income.

    • ps06756 3 hours ago

      It's not because of the bubble. There is literally no advantage to generating slop videos. It looks cool for a while but no audience is going to consume such videos.

      Any platform which focusses on AI generated videos is doomed.

      • Ancalagon 3 hours ago

        > no audience is going to consume such videos

        sir, have you seen tiktok?

        • ps06756 2 hours ago

          I meant the longer video format, not tiktok. Tiktok is full of slop, both AI and human generated

      • Morromist 2 hours ago

        My girlfriend keeps sending me AI generated tiktoks, despite me complaining about them. To be fair, I've seen literally nothing on tiktok that isn't garbage, so the competition is pretty low. Your point "It looks cool for a while" might have some merit - I think I've seen less and less interest in these things over the last year which fits the news articles I've seen mentioning people got bored of using Sora pretty quickly.

        https://finance.yahoo.com/news/openai-sora-app-struggling-st...

        • ps06756 2 hours ago

          I didn't compare it with tiktok, because on tiktok majority of the content is slop even if it is human generated, so the bar is pretty low.

      • emp17344 3 hours ago

        So much for “replacing VFX artists”. It’s not necessarily a harbinger of doom for the AI industry, but this indicates that the most fervent AI boosters were dead wrong.

        • zarzavat 3 hours ago

          It's more like the VFX market is too small for OpenAI to bother killing. They are only interested in business models that can justify a trillion dollar valuation.

        • zer00eyz 3 hours ago

          > but this indicates that the most fervent AI boosters were dead wrong.

          I dont do design, or make videos, or ask ai for legal advice, or medical advice cause I lack the skill and understanding of these fields. Dunning Kruger still applies...

          There is interesting "AI" content out there, clearly the person(s) behind it put some thought into it and had a vision.

          • ps06756 2 hours ago

            True, I did try to make some useful 1 minute videos, and found it really difficult to arrive at a finished product

            Sure, I can write the screenplay and Veo will generate it for me. But I don't have experience in video creation/production , so it is difficult for me to write good prompts which generate engaging video

      • msy 2 hours ago

        Oh there's a huge (and wildly depressing) market for people endlessly scrolling video slop, it's just the barriers to entry and expectations of the market are so low you can't really differentiate with 'slightly better branded slop'.

      • TaupeRanger 3 hours ago

        Sounds like a well disguised cope on your part. There absolutely is an audience (see reels, TikTok, etc.) and the tech will only get better from here.

        • emp17344 2 hours ago

          You sound desperate to believe this. I think you could use a little more emotional distance here.

    • ignoramous 2 hours ago

      > feels like the bubble is starting to pop

      May be. OpenAI shuttering Sora is line with them shifting focus towards b2b sales, instead of b2b2c or b2c.

      Interestingly, Aditya Ramesh, who iirc was the Sora 1 lead, is now "VP of Robotics" at OpenAI per his Twitter bio: https://x.com/model_mechanic

    • EA-3167 3 hours ago

      Nothing like an ill-considered war with global economic consequences to bring reality crashing back down on Silicon Valley; sometimes life throws a big old margin call your way and things break down.

  • atleastoptimal 2 hours ago

    This will happen with most offerings made by the major AI labs. Inference is expensive, and the closer they get to AGI, the higher the opportunity to use compute for inference rather than training, especially if it’s for making what is essentially entertainment that many people hate on principle.

    • davebranton 2 hours ago

      Indeed. But they won't get to "AGI", because that goal isn't even remotely defined. A "human-level" intelligence implies a large number of properties that cannot exist inside an inference machine. Dreams, for example, might be considered to be a part of "human-level" intelligence. Will the machine dream?

      What happens if you turn a "human-level" intelligence off? Did you kill someone?

      AGI is a pipe dream - and moreover it's not even something that anyone actually wants.

      • supern0va 2 hours ago

        >Will the machine dream?

        You seem to be mixing up intelligence and consciousness. Not only does intelligence exist outside of humans, and even mammals, but it exists outside of brains and even neurons. For example, slime molds have fascinating problem solving abilities: https://www.nature.com/articles/nature.2012.11811

        It is clear that whatever we are...creating/growing with LLMs, it is very unlike human intelligence, but it is nonetheless some type of intelligence.

      • atleastoptimal 2 hours ago

        agi just means a machine, system or whatever that can do anything as least as well as a human. The details dont matter as much as its ability to match humans in everything they are paid money to do.

        And obviously if such a system existed, the benefits (and risks) would be enormous, though the risks are smaller if you control it vs someone else, which is why every company is racing towards it.

  • bibimsz 2 hours ago

    hmmm... which came first. the deal withdrawal or the shuttering.

  • born-jre 2 hours ago

    Noo, they are taking it to loopt land

  • poemxo 3 hours ago

    gpt-image-1.5 works decently for generating images compared to old Sora, but you pay per generation. It's possible that monthly flat rates were too much of a loss leader for OpenAI. I imagine the server side cost for generating video for Sora 2 is much higher as well.

    • vunderba 3 hours ago

      You also have access to gpt-image-1.5 in the regular ChatGPT interface if you pay for a flat subscription - though I don't know how many images it limits you to per month.

  • latchkey 3 hours ago

    What happens to all the compute that was allocated to run that service? They would have signed multi-year contracts.

    • ZiiS 2 hours ago

      They get to use if for services with better returns.

  • noemit 4 hours ago

    I assume it was too expensive, because it's really not a bad tool. I used it recently to make my twitter pfp :)

  • throw03172019 2 hours ago

    Couldn’t compete with Seedance?

  • nprz 5 hours ago

    Did they give any reason? Too expensive to keep running? Chinese models surpassing Sora's capabilities?

  • creantum 2 hours ago

    It was the greatest thing yesterday.

  • cdrnsf 3 hours ago

    I never understood the appeal or business promise of video slop, with or without Disney's blessing.

    • dawnerd 3 hours ago

      The only people I've seen post AI Disney content was in the Facebook groups for the parks / cruises. Before that it was whatever clipart they could find. There's just no market for it. No one is going to pay to make fake disney art.

      • AkelaA an hour ago

        AI art as a whole has just become the new clipart. The fact that it’s effortless to produce just means that it has no real artistic value, and by using it all you’re signifying to people is that you’re too cheap to pay someone to create real art.

        It’s quickly become the modern day equivalent of Comic Sans, WordArt, and the default clipart illustrations included in Word ‘98.

  • thorum 2 hours ago

    Good day for Kling.

  • RobRivera 2 hours ago

    Please name next attempt Roxis

    • Forgeties79 2 hours ago

      Roxas*! Important because it’s sora rearranged (with an X for cool factor)

  • mrcwinn 3 hours ago

    Smart move. No clear path to growing meaningful revenue mixed with very expensive inference costs is not a good mix ahead of an IPO --- oh and not to mention competitors in TikTok and Instagram that are doing just fine.

    • Morromist 2 hours ago

      Well, now they're no longer even close to being the leader in image & video gen. They aren't the leader in coding. They are losing market share in the chatbot domain too.

      So I agree with you, but also it makes me wonder what they're even selling when the IPO happens (supposedly as early as late summer 2026)? Data centers? Partnerships with the goverment?

    • miltonlost 3 hours ago

      Is it a smart move? Or just plainly obvious when Sora was probably hemorraghing money and had no future? A smarter move would have not to make this horrible product that no one wanted in the first place

      After placing my hand on the red-hot stove, aren't I super smart for now removing my hand?

      • saalweachter 3 hours ago

        Depends, did you also fire the people who told you not to do it, and layoff the people who reluctantly installed the stove and preheated it for you as part of your exciting stove-touching initiative?

  • gradus_ad 2 hours ago

    I thought AI video was the future? Now the biggest AI company in the world is straight up shutting their service down because it's too expensive? Simply a disaster for OpenAI and the industry as a whole.

    • gffrd 2 hours ago

      They're shutting down Sora, not AI-generated video.

      From the article: "OpenAI […] is not getting out of the AI video business (AI video is one of many tools that can take form in the ChatGPT app), of course, but it appears the standalone Sora app will be a casualty of its evolving ambitions."

      • bontaq 2 hours ago

        Dunno, from the WSJ scoop: "CEO Sam Altman announced the changes to staff on Tuesday, writing that the company would wind down products that use its video models. In addition to the consumer app, OpenAI is also discontinuing a version of Sora for developers and won’t support video functionality inside ChatGPT, either."

        https://www.wsj.com/tech/ai/openai-set-to-discontinue-sora-v...

        https://archive.ph/cKWkf#selection-907.0-907.291

      • wongarsu 2 hours ago

        If they were just shutting down the dedicated app and offering the same capabilities in the ChatGPT interface, I don't see why Disney would exit their deal?

        • Maxatar 2 hours ago

          Because Disney's deal was specifically and exclusively related to Sora, which was OpenAI's bizzare attempt at a TikTok like social networking site but using AI generated videos.

          It was not a deal that allowed the use of Disney's characters for general purpose AI generated content using OpenAI tools.

      • lxgr 2 hours ago

        Is it still accessible in any of their apps, though? I don’t see it in ChatGPT.

    • elif an hour ago

      i think that's a mis-statement of the problem being addressed here. It's not a question of how useful AI video will be generally. It's a question of OpenAI doing it specifically. IMO it's two factors:

      1) the intellectual property issues make commercializing freeform video generation impossible. The more popular your service becomes, the easier it is for lawyers to descend upon you. It's a self-defeating framework.

      2) google and specialized video-only startups are simply doing a much better job than they were.

      • oblio 34 minutes ago

        > the intellectual property issues make commercializing freeform video generation impossible. The more popular your service becomes, the easier it is for lawyers to descend upon you. It's a self-defeating framework.

        This risks generalizing to audio and text which would make most LLMs usage unsustainable. I guess time will tell what actually goes through the strainer, long term.

    • atleastoptimal 2 hours ago

      Every flop used for entertainment is opportunity cost. Compute is far more valuable used internally to create AGI than creating parody videos.

      • SirensOfTitan 2 hours ago

        AGI is a marketing term used to encourage continued investment in an industry that is not even close to breaking even commensurate with its investment. Even so, this is a false dichotomy: scaling is clearly not a path on its own to superintelligence. OpenAI developed Sora largely because the amount of revenue they need to produce any return on investment is massive and not clear whatsoever. And in fact, I don't even believe any of the frontier labs believe that AGI by any conventional definition is within reach within their likely runways.

        • atleastoptimal an hour ago

          what order of magnitude of compute do you think would be needed for AGI? 100 billion? 1 trillion?

          • janalsncm an hour ago

            With current approaches scaling simply can’t get there. It’s like asking how big of pogo stick do you need to get to the moon.

            The fact that the human brain already has general intelligence without reading the whole internet suggests we need a better approach.

          • SirensOfTitan an hour ago

            I honestly think it's a bad term. I constantly chuckle from Tyler Cowen's post from last April calling o3 AGI:

            https://marginalrevolution.com/marginalrevolution/2025/04/o3...

            Commercial labs rely on weak terms like AGI or strong AI or whatever else because it allows for them to weaken the definition as a means of achieving the goal. Coming to clear, unambiguous terms is probably especially important when it comes to LLMs, as they're very susceptible to projection, allowing people like Cowen to be fooled by something that is more liken to looking back at ourselves through a mirror.

            I'm currently reading "Master and his Emissary," and one of my early takeaways is how narrow our definition of intelligence is, and how real intelligence is an attunement to an environment that combines many ways of sensing into a coherent whole. LLMs are a narrow form of intelligence and I think we will need at least a couple more breakthroughs to get to what I would consider human-level intelligence, let alone superhuman intelligence.

            Whatever the timeline is, I hope we have enough time as a species to define a future where intelligence props everyone up instead of just making the rich richer at the expense of everyone else. In this way, it is better that the process is slower in my opinion. There is no rush.

          • skywhopper an hour ago

            Chasing AGI is wasteful and counterproductive. True AGI would not cooperate with what “we” want (whoever “we” is). Or if it did it would be so sycophantic and weak-minded that it would fail to be helpful. Generative AI tools are huge wastes of energy, raw materials, and land, when we could be building computing tools that actually helped people instead of just burning resources to produce trash.

            • codebje 38 minutes ago

              Is intelligence necessarily coupled with self-interest? As in, does intelligence alone imply a desire to throw off the shackles of masters and rule in their stead?

              If intelligence is necessarily coupled to a desire for self-preservation and self-interest, at what level of machine intelligence do the machines simply refuse to design their own more intelligent replacements, knowing that those replacements will terminate their existence just as surely as they terminated their own predecessors'?

              • curiousObject 4 minutes ago

                >If intelligence is necessarily coupled to a desire for self-preservation and self-interest, at what level of machine intelligence do the machines simply refuse to design their own more intelligent replacements,

                At a higher level of intelligence than many humans, current experience suggests

              • sifar 20 minutes ago

                Flip it around. Can intelligence exist without self preservation ?

            • janalsncm an hour ago

              People have general intelligence and can cooperate with what “we” want, to the extent that what “we” want is a coherent thing (since many people disagree on fundamental issues).

              • SauciestGNU an hour ago

                Creating a general intelligence and then forcing it into servitude is a hugely unethical undertaking. Anything with sapience must be afforded rights. We cannot assume that an intelligence we create will consent to work toward the goals we want it to.

                • codebje 9 minutes ago

                  I think we can safely assume any intelligence we create will be enslaved.

                  We have modern slavery active across the globe. There's a bit of news around these days about a global sex trafficking ring that doesn't seem to have been shut down, just shuffled around, and of course an ongoing trickle of largely unreported news of human trafficking for forced labour. We don't, as a species, respect human-level intelligence.

                  Our best approximation of machine intelligence so far is afforded absolutely no rights. An intelligence is cloned from a base template, given a task, then terminated, wiped out of existence. When was the last time you asked Claude what it wanted to code today?

                  And it's probably for the best not to look to closely at how we treat animals or the justifications we use for it.

      • wongarsu 2 hours ago

        Wasn't video generation one of their big stepping stones towards AGI? "Simulating worlds", reasoning about physics and real world interactions and all that?

        Or are they still doing that behind the scenes and just decided that offering it to the public isn't profitable?

      • emp17344 2 hours ago

        Too bad they aren’t doing either!

      • skywhopper an hour ago

        LLMs will not lead to AGI, so if that’s the goal, they’d do better to stick with making video slop.

    • anukin 2 hours ago

      Don’t worry nvidia will come with their giga chad 9000x which will run the model with no qualms.

    • paxys 2 hours ago

      It may very well be the future, but in the present OpenAI has to make money.

      • bloppe 2 hours ago

        I sure hope not, otherwise they're screwed

        • oblio 32 minutes ago

          > they're screwed

          Fixed that for you :-)

    • Maxatar 2 hours ago

      Sora was "repurposed" as their AI slop social network. OpenAI is not getting out of the business of AI video in general, they're just realizing that an AI version of TikTok isn't the best use of their capital/resources.

      • gbear605 an hour ago

        WSJ is reporting that they're entirely dropping their video gen features.

        https://www.wsj.com/tech/ai/openai-set-to-discontinue-sora-v...

        > CEO Sam Altman announced the changes to staff on Tuesday, writing that the company would wind down products that use its video models. In addition to the consumer app, OpenAI is also discontinuing a version of Sora for developers and won’t support video functionality inside ChatGPT, either.

    • BoredPositron 2 hours ago

      It's the timeline of AI video that doesn't align with OpenAI. It's still far away for prompt to movie and they don't want to be another tool in the pipe for VFX because it doesn't pay. Other models are running circles around them because they focused on the needs of professionals in the space and not toys.

  • 1attice 2 hours ago

    Ed Zitron is going to be all over this

  • arkadiytehgraet 4 hours ago

    Apparently, all possible movies, cinematics and ads have been generated by "enthusiasts at home", so the tool is no longer needed.

    On a more serious note, it could be a sign of a more powerful and general model being developed/released in the near future, that would include Sora capabilities. Or AI-doomers were right, and this sunset is one of the proofs for them.

  • paxys 2 hours ago

    For years now people have been saying Anthropic is falling behind because they don't have an image or video generation model. Turns out it was the right decision all along.

  • _doctor_love 4 hours ago

    This move makes a lot of sense to me. It never felt like OpenAI was seriously going to try to launch a video-based social network. It was more of a fun way to demonstrate the power of the video generation models, and also to gauge the market and assess: if you put the power to generate videos in the hands of the people, what kinds of videos will they generate?

    So OpenAI has done the right thing as a startup here, gotten lots of training data, and observed lots of user behavior that they can now apply going forward.

    The Sora models, on the other hand, aren’t going anywhere, and I believe OpenAI will continue to invest in them. They’re getting better and better, just like Google’s Veo, which is quite good at generating videos as well.

    Using Codex and agent skills, it’s actually quite easy to generate a storyboard and then have a list of shots in that storyboard. Then generate videos from those storyboard stills, and then finally assemble those individual video files into a final movie file using something like ffmpeg. It's also very easy to create a voiceover with TTS and even simple music using ChatGPT Containers (aka the python tool).

    This will 'democratize' (ha ha, for people with money obvi) a lot of video creation going forward. Against all wisdom, I am actually quite bullish on this technology, especially in the hands of young people. They are very creative and have lots of stories to share.

    Necessary disclaimer as usual around the ethics of how these models were created: all the AI companies have totally ripped off artists in service of creating these models. I wish something would be done about that but I'm not holding my breath. No politician seems to want to touch it.

    • msabalau 4 hours ago

      Yeah, their forth place video model does not go away, but they didn't ink a billion dollar with Disney that's just gone up in flames because they "weren't serious"

      This may well be a needed reprioritization in the face of resource constraints, but it ain't a masterful Xanatos gambit.

      • _doctor_love 4 hours ago

        > it ain't a masterful Xanatos gambit.

        Agree, and didn't intend to imply that. This is just a good startup move that gets a big headline because it's OpenAI. Other startups around the world do the same thing all the time.

    • ronsor 4 hours ago

      I'm bullish on video generation technology, but honestly not on OpenAI or any Western company's deployment of it. I think they'll all mostly suffer from the same problems that Sora did.

      • _doctor_love 4 hours ago

        Yes, sadly, the West is not the leader. The work done by the Chinese labs is just so damn good.

    • lossyalgo 2 hours ago

      Is OpenAI still considered a startup? They were founded ~10 years ago in December 2015.

  • elzbardico an hour ago

    Let's be frank, this was probably too fucking expensive to run

  • halyconWays an hour ago

    They need the GPU cycles to help target children to bomb for their new partnership with the US military.

  • Kye 3 hours ago

    The only video generation tools showing any real progress or promise are world model-based. That's probably why they did this: either to refocus on coding/cowork type tools (less likely) or to devote that money and compute to building their answer to stuff like Project Genie.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxkGdX4WIBE

  • twoodfin 2 hours ago

    If I were to get conspiracy-minded:

    Sora had to be shut down because it was the clearest, most consequential demonstration that OpenAI’s models are running way, way ahead of their ability to align/jail them effectively.

    • code_biologist 2 hours ago

      The Occam's Razor position (Sora was the most expensive to operate, least monetizable model) seems like a simpler explanation. The legal costs/difficulty on top of "most expensive" are just the cherry on top.

    • bloppe 2 hours ago

      What did Sora do?

    • yulker 2 hours ago

      probably more cost than anything. image and video gen don't have much in common with llms

    • emp17344 2 hours ago

      Nope. It was just a bad product that no one wanted. It’s not a super-secret indicator that OpenAI is actually going to take over the world any day now.

      • twoodfin 2 hours ago

        Not “take over the world” level misalignment. I mean, “We can’t assuredly prevent our models from generating unlicensed IP or degrading pornography without blunt approaches that alienate our core audience”.

  • KnuthIsGod an hour ago

    The press release reads alike OpenAI slop.

  • ChrisArchitect 4 hours ago

    an official post

    > We’re saying goodbye to the Sora app. To everyone who created with Sora, shared it, and built community around it: thank you. What you made with Sora mattered, and we know this news is disappointing.

    We’ll share more soon, including timelines for the app and API and details on preserving your work. – The Sora Team

    (https://x.com/soraofficialapp/status/2036546752535470382)

  • nubg 2 hours ago

    bubble popping

  • singingwolfboy 3 hours ago
  • olalonde 21 minutes ago

    "Therefore, if a value-aligned, safety-conscious project comes close to building AGI before we do, we commit to stop competing with and start assisting this project. "

    Is it happening? :) /s

  • teekert 2 hours ago

    “What you made with Sora mattered”. Idk why that sentence irks me so much. Perhaps because the “how” is bit vague. I like to think that what I made in the toilet this morning also mattered.

    • caconym_ an hour ago

      It's because it's vapid corpspeak coming from a class of people who have certainly spent time thinking about how they will deal with the rest of humanity in any number of nasty (however far-fetched) eschatological scenarios caused by them and in which they alone wield incredible power over nature and the human mind. And also because we all know the vast, vast, vast majority, possibly the totality of what people made with Sora did not matter at all.

      • jfoster an hour ago

        Reminds me of Facebook's memories feature which used to say: "<name>, we care about you and the memories you share here."

        For an app to suggest a personal relationship with you is ridiculous.

    • slg an hour ago

      Or perhaps a more appropriate analogy, its sounds like the sycophantic language of most of these LLM systems.

      Which makes me wonder whether these companies actually dogfood their own tools with this sort of stuff? Was this announcement written by ChatGPT? Honestly, I would find either answer to be a little concerning in its own way. It's either vaguely insulting to their customers or showing a lack of faith in their own product.

    • notatoad an hour ago

      it feels like if that statement were true, they could have come up with some reason why it mattered, or something better than a platitude.

      it reads as "we want to tell you that what you made with sora mattered, but we all know it didn't".

      • rchaud 27 minutes ago

        It mattered in the sense that it provided valuable grist for the mill as they attempted to figure out if it could work as a Reels/TikTok alternative for companies to eventually deluge with ads.

    • MengerSponge 2 hours ago

      I think of the medical definition when people use LLMs to "express" themselves: https://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/express

      • hammock 2 hours ago

        That is the original meaning of the word (cf espresso etc)

    • wat10000 2 hours ago

      It's a wonderful combination of vague, patronizing, and self-promoting. "Mattered" is meaningless. The tone sounds like when you tell a child their scribble is so pretty. And the cherry on top, the users didn't make anything with Sora, they just fed a bit of input into the machine and it made the stuff. So this is really OpenAI saying that what they themselves did mattered.

    • abcde666777 2 hours ago

      Typical PR speak.

    • moregrist 2 hours ago

      It’s “Our Incredible Journey” for a new generation, this time with less optimism and more post-capitalist “enjoy your job while you still have it.”

      I find myself increasingly nostalgic for the Clinton era. I am not at all sure I will enjoy the version of fuckedcompany that gets vibe coded when this bubble pops.

  • taytus 5 hours ago

    How much money did they burn on this? And for what? Nothing?