QRV Operating System: QNX on RISC-V

(r-tty.blogspot.com)

32 points | by chrsw 5 days ago ago

5 comments

  • ymz5 4 days ago

    Thanks, chrsw! I encourage people to join the petition to re-license old QNX sources under Apache 2.0. If Blackberry does so, we'll have another good and free microkernel-based OS.

    • jacquesm 3 hours ago

      I spent a ton of time on trying to do just that years ago and it went nowhere, calibrate your hopes accordingly.

  • ymz5 44 minutes ago

    Well, there's a plan in case BB doesn't re-license.

    We will rewrite the proprietary parts of the kernel from scratch. It's not trivial, but possible.

    We could use seL4 as a basis for the "core" message-passing primitives. Channels and connections will go next.

  • ahartmetz 4 hours ago

    QNX is great. But please be more judicious with the AI writing. It's great at style transfer, so maybe tell it to write like Hemingway or something? He didn't use unnecessary words and repeat the always same "impactful" flourishes.